Title: Dancing in the DarkAuthor: Robyn BavatiPublisher: FluxStatus: Available on February 8th 2013*full disclosure: Free thanks to the publisher via NetGalley for my Honest Review.Description:(by goodreads.com)He tossed her into the air as if she were weightless, and just for a moment she seemed suspended there, defying gravity. I couldn’t take my eyes off her. I knew what she was feeling. It was in every movement of every limb.Here was a power I had never seen before, a kind of haunting loveliness I had never imagined. Seeing it made me long for something, I didn’t know what … Ditty was born to dance, but she was also born Jewish. When her strictly religious parents won’t let her take ballet lessons, Ditty starts to dance in secret. But for how long can she keep her two worlds apart? And at what cost?A dramatic and moving story about a girl who follows her dream, and finds herself questioning everything she believes in.My Review:This book was hard to read because of all the cringe-worthy moments. I’m serious. As a Jewish person I thought this was a really harsh portrayal. Ditty’s family is part of very strict sect of Judaism which, is in the minority of the spectrum of all Jewish people and communities. If you weren’t Jewish or had a couple of Jewish friends you wouldn’t necessarily know that. It ended up being an okay novel but there were a number of things I had problems with. I would have never requested this book up if I had read the description more carefully on NetGalley, but that’s my own error. Why? Religion is a sensitive issue for most of us and I tend to stray away from religious fiction altogether… if anything this is a good study on why Extreme-ism of ANY KIND without room for tolerance is the way to destruction.The plot line was okay. The narrative was robotic. The overall story made me frustrated and I couldn’t wait to finish this book so I could rid myself of its presence.Overall score: 1.5-2/7 

Title: Dancing in the Dark

Author: Robyn Bavati

Publisher: Flux

Status: Available on February 8th 2013

*full disclosure: Free thanks to the publisher via NetGalley for my Honest Review.

Description:

(by goodreads.com)

He tossed her into the air as if she were weightless, and just for a moment she seemed suspended there, defying gravity. I couldn’t take my eyes off her. I knew what she was feeling. It was in every movement of every limb.
Here was a power I had never seen before, a kind of haunting loveliness I had never imagined. Seeing it made me long for something, I didn’t know what … 
Ditty was born to dance, but she was also born Jewish. When her strictly religious parents won’t let her take ballet lessons, Ditty starts to dance in secret. But for how long can she keep her two worlds apart? And at what cost?
A dramatic and moving story about a girl who follows her dream, and finds herself questioning everything she believes in.

My Review:

This book was hard to read because of all the cringe-worthy moments. I’m serious. As a Jewish person I thought this was a really harsh portrayal. Ditty’s family is part of very strict sect of Judaism which, is in the minority of the spectrum of all Jewish people and communities. If you weren’t Jewish or had a couple of Jewish friends you wouldn’t necessarily know that. It ended up being an okay novel but there were a number of things I had problems with. 

I would have never requested this book up if I had read the description more carefully on NetGalley, but that’s my own error. Why? Religion is a sensitive issue for most of us and I tend to stray away from religious fiction altogether… if anything this is a good study on why Extreme-ism of ANY KIND without room for tolerance is the way to destruction.

The plot line was okay. The narrative was robotic. The overall story made me frustrated and I couldn’t wait to finish this book so I could rid myself of its presence.

Overall score: 1.5-2/7 

Original link: http://readbymoonlight.tumblr.com/post/42433273505/title-dancing-in-the-dark-author-robyn-bavati

Title: Dancing in the DarkAuthor: Robyn BavatiPublisher: FluxStatus:

Leave a Reply

