Title: The Massive: Vol. 1Author: Brian Wood, Illustrators: Kristian Donaldson and Garry BrownPublisher: Dark Horse ComicsStatus: Available on April 2nd 2013*full disclosure: Free thanks to the publisher via NetGalley for my Honest Review.Description:(by goodreads.com)What does it mean to be an environmentalist after the world has already ended? For Callum Israel, leader of the Ninth Wave oceanic activist group, this is the question that cuts to the core of his identity. In a post-war, post-Crash, post-disaster, post-everything world, nothing is certain and ideologies are meaningless. But the mission remains: search this crumbling world for answers to the cause of the Crash, and keep up the hunt for their missing sister ship, The Massive, lost and adrift in the chaos. Brian Wood’s new, sprawling, post-apocalyptic epic takes the crew of the Kapital from the flooded remnants of Hong Kong to Unalaska, with stops in Antarctica and Mogadishu, as post-Crash ethics and economics are explored across a broken world.My Review: This was really slow to start. Really. Really. Slow. I tried to get into it but it just wasn’t doing anything for me. I didn’t care about their world. I didn’t really care about them. I will not be reading the sequel. It wasn’t terrible or anything, it even had some moments where I was gripped (albeit that was short-lived,) but I ultimately just didn’t careOverall Rating: 3.5-4/7 Meh**will repost review closer to the expected publication date.

 

Title: The Massive: Vol. 1

Author: Brian Wood, Illustrators: Kristian Donaldson and Garry Brown

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Status: Available on April 2nd 2013

*full disclosure: Free thanks to the publisher via NetGalley for my Honest Review.

Description:

(by goodreads.com)

What does it mean to be an environmentalist after the world has already ended? For Callum Israel, leader of the Ninth Wave oceanic activist group, this is the question that cuts to the core of his identity. In a post-war, post-Crash, post-disaster, post-everything world, nothing is certain and ideologies are meaningless. But the mission remains: search this crumbling world for answers to the cause of the Crash, and keep up the hunt for their missing sister ship, The Massive, lost and adrift in the chaos. Brian Wood’s new, sprawling, post-apocalyptic epic takes the crew of the Kapital from the flooded remnants of Hong Kong to Unalaska, with stops in Antarctica and Mogadishu, as post-Crash ethics and economics are explored across a broken world.


My Review: 

This was really slow to start. Really. Really. Slow. I tried to get into it but it just wasn’t doing anything for me. I didn’t care about their world. I didn’t really care about them. I will not be reading the sequel. It wasn’t terrible or anything, it even had some moments where I was gripped (albeit that was short-lived,) but I ultimately just didn’t care

Overall Rating: 3.5-4/7 Meh

Original link: http://readbymoonlight.tumblr.com/post/41679053240/title-the-massive-vol-1-author-brian-wood

 Title: The Massive: Vol. 1Author: Brian Wood, Illustrators: Kristian

Leave a Reply

