readbymoonlight:Title: The Sixth StationAuthor: Linda Stasi Publisher: Forge*full disclosure: Free thanks to the publisher via NetGalley for my Honest Review.Description:(by goodreads.com)Some say Demiel ben Yusef is the world’s most dangerous terrorist, personally responsible for bombings and riots that have claimed the lives of thousands. Others insist he is a man of peace, a miracle worker, and possibly even the Son of God. His trial in New York City for crimes against humanity attracts scores of protestors, as well as media and religious leaders from around the world. Cynical reporter Alessandra Russo heads to the UN hoping for a piece of the action, but soon becomes entangled in controversy and suspicion when ben Yusef singles her out for attention among all other reporters. As Alessandra begins digging into ben Yusef’s past, she is already in more danger than she knows—and when she is falsely accused of murder during her investigation, she is forced to flee New York.On the run from unknown enemies, Alessandra finds herself on the trail of a global conspiracy and a story that could shake the world to its foundations. Is Demiel ben Yusef the Second Coming or the Antichrist? The truth may lie in the secret history of the Holy Family, a group of Templars who defied the church, and a mysterious relic stained with the sacred blood of Christ HimselfMy Review: ** spoiler alert ** First of all I want to say, I might not be the best person to listen to. I only got through about 1/3 of the book before I gave up. So have that in mind when you read this.Unfortunately, this story seemed really farfetched, (and as you know I’m a sci-fi, fantasy reader.) I thought this book seemed interesting from its summary, so I wanted to give it a shot. I appreciated the first person narrative, and I think the plot had merit… but it fell short on the execution. Maybe there was something I missed, or I just don’t get what the 5 star reviewers from goodreads, got from the story. I actually thought the main character was immature and I don’t understand how she could have been so naive. She’s 30-40 aged woman who is also a journalist living in NYC, she gets kissed by a terrorist and she honestly thinks that column she wrote would save her, or tell her side of the story well? Then she was surprised that her article was changed? Really? REALLY? Sorry, I just didn’t get it. I tried, but I really didn’t like how Ali reacted to well… anything. It didn’t feel realistic at all… In science fiction the weirdest most unrealistic things can happen, and the main reason they can be believable is; because the main character reacts to their surroundings in a way that you can visualize/ understand them and their motives. You might not agree with it, or see an alternative way to what they did, but usually you can see why the main character reacted the way they did. It is for this reason why I wasn’t able to continue on, I didn’t understand her behavior. The plot was conceptually very interesting, and if you’re a hard core mystery fan I think you might be able to get more out of this than I did. Sorry…1.5/2 out of 7 yep that bad folks.reblogging because it just officially came out yesterday

readbymoonlight:

Title: The Sixth Station

Author: Linda Stasi 

Publisher: Forge

*full disclosure: Free thanks to the publisher via NetGalley for my Honest Review.

Description:

(by goodreads.com)

Some say Demiel ben Yusef is the world’s most dangerous terrorist, personally responsible for bombings and riots that have claimed the lives of thousands. Others insist he is a man of peace, a miracle worker, and possibly even the Son of God. His trial in New York City for crimes against humanity attracts scores of protestors, as well as media and religious leaders from around the world. 

Cynical reporter Alessandra Russo heads to the UN hoping for a piece of the action, but soon becomes entangled in controversy and suspicion when ben Yusef singles her out for attention among all other reporters. As Alessandra begins digging into ben Yusef’s past, she is already in more danger than she knows—and when she is falsely accused of murder during her investigation, she is forced to flee New York.

On the run from unknown enemies, Alessandra finds herself on the trail of a global conspiracy and a story that could shake the world to its foundations. Is Demiel ben Yusef the Second Coming or the Antichrist? The truth may lie in the secret history of the Holy Family, a group of Templars who defied the church, and a mysterious relic stained with the sacred blood of Christ Himself

My Review: ** spoiler alert ** First of all I want to say, I might not be the best person to listen to. I only got through about 1/3 of the book before I gave up. So have that in mind when you read this.

Unfortunately, this story seemed really farfetched, (and as you know I’m a sci-fi, fantasy reader.) I thought this book seemed interesting from its summary, so I wanted to give it a shot. I appreciated the first person narrative, and I think the plot had merit… but it fell short on the execution. Maybe there was something I missed, or I just don’t get what the 5 star reviewers from goodreads, got from the story. I actually thought the main character was immature and I don’t understand how she could have been so naive. She’s 30-40 aged woman who is also a journalist living in NYC, she gets kissed by a terrorist and she honestly thinks that column she wrote would save her, or tell her side of the story well? Then she was surprised that her article was changed? Really? REALLY? 

Sorry, I just didn’t get it. I tried, but I really didn’t like how Ali reacted to well… anything. It didn’t feel realistic at all… In science fiction the weirdest most unrealistic things can happen, and the main reason they can be believable is; because the main character reacts to their surroundings in a way that you can visualize/ understand them and their motives. You might not agree with it, or see an alternative way to what they did, but usually you can see why the main character reacted the way they did. It is for this reason why I wasn’t able to continue on, I didn’t understand her behavior. The plot was conceptually very interesting, and if you’re a hard core mystery fan I think you might be able to get more out of this than I did. Sorry…

1.5/2 out of 7 yep that bad folks.

original link: http://readbymoonlight.tumblr.com/post/41278140543/readbymoonlight-title-the-sixth

readbymoonlight:Title: The Sixth StationAuthor: Linda Stasi Publisher: Forge*full disclosure:

Leave a Reply

