Title: The Goddess Test

Author: Aimee Carter

Publisher: Harlequin

*full disclosure: bought from bookstore

Description:(by goodreads.com)

EVERY GIRL WHO HAS TAKEN THE TEST HAS DIED.

NOW IT’S KATE’S TURN. 

It’s always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she suceeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Review: 

It took me a while to finish this book, as most of you know from my goodreads updates. I just wanted everyone to know that is not the book’s fault. Life has been insane lately, but now that I have a job in the best bookstore in the world (Strand books in NYC I have loved them for a really long time,) things are really looking up and now I can dedicate my time back to reading.

This story was so original, I thought this was an excellent telling of the Hades and Persephone myth. I don’t want to give too much away, but the ending was a pleasant surprise! I thought it would end up being more like Solstice (which I loved,) but The Goddess Test had its own edge and the plot kept you guessing. Again I hate giving out spoilers but there was murder mystery subplot and that gave the story a lot of layers.

The over all tempo seemed a little slow at times, but again I had my mind on other things so I’m hesitant to stick by that judgement. However, I will say this the romance that developed in the story felt NATURAL.There was no love at first sight, or going from hating to love in 4 seconds. Instead, the two main characters developed feelings for each other over months, not days. I love that! I can’t even begin to tell you how much I appreciated this. In YA especially love develops way too fast, and yeah I get it. Raging hormones and all, but Kate had a complicated life with difficult circumstances. High school romances wasn’t even a blip on her radar screen. Even with the guy she fell in love with (being vague because I don’t want to give away too much,) it took time and it was great to see her open up at her own pace. She had much more pressing concerns and I actually find her a positive literary female role model. Especially because she has to dole out punishment every now and again, and she’s always calm, level headed and fair.

The ending was very touching. I’m serious. I got very choked up (even cried a little.) Overall I thought this was a really beautiful story and I highly recommend it to 16 year olds on up.

WARNING: there is at times  sexual content in this story. Personally it’s part of why I like it because sex is almost never addressed in YA and I think ignoring is not the answer. That being said know that there is sexual content, so if you’re buying this for a 13 year old… meeeeeeeh maybe not the perfect idea. The girl in the story is also 18 so it’s not taboo, and she’s comfortable in her own identity. ^___^ 

Overall: 6.5/7 not a 7 because I was distracted by other things but I really loved this novel. 

Original post: http://readbymoonlight.tumblr.com/post/38475776975/title-the-goddess-test-author-aimee

HIGH-RESTitle: The Goddess TestAuthor: Aimee CarterPublisher: Harlequin*full disclosure:

Leave a Reply

