Title: The Perks of Being a WallflowerAuthor: Stephen ChboskyPublisher: MTV Books and Pocket Books*full disclosure: bought from bookstoreDescription:(by goodreads.com)Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix-tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~My Review: I wanted to read this book because I saw the movie and really liked it, and I thought well why the hell not read the book and get the whole experience? Believe it or not this book has a bunch of mixed reviews, I thought they’d be all positive but they were mixed. I’m glad I read it.The only other books I’ve read that is written in an diary or letter format has been the Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot (I was 10) and Bram Stoker’s Dracula (… I want to say I was around 15 the first time I read it.) Personally it’s not my favorite format because I think you miss out on a lot of the details you can get through regular first person and third person narratives. This is going to be one of those novels that will become a classic coming of age tale. Some people will love it and it will resonate deeply with them forever, other people might get annoyed with Charlie or the format the story is written in and give up too early. All of the characters have their own quirks, their flaws and strengths. Some people like their characters to be perfect all the time. I don’t. I hate it when characters are way too perfect like Jean Grey and Cyclops from X-men. I hate them because they fit into this cookie-cutter shape and behave like over dramatic soap opera characters/Stepford wives. I’m happy to say that all of the characters were complex there will be some you like and some you hate. Personally I love Patrick and Charlie’s father. I like Sam and Charlie and so on and so forth. There is something for everyone in this novel.I really liked it it touched upon very difficult topics, it’s an overwhelming experience. Overall I’m really happy I read it and I would recommend to anyone in the YA community and give it to adults as well.WARNINGS: there is abuse, positive and negative sexual content and swearing Overall: 5/7

 Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Author: Stephen Chbosky

Publisher: MTV Books and Pocket Books

*full disclosure: bought from bookstore

Description: (by goodreads.com)

Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. 

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix-tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. 

But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Review: 

I wanted to read this book because I saw the movie and really liked it, and I thought well why the hell not read the book and get the whole experience? Believe it or not this book has a bunch of mixed reviews, I thought they’d be all positive but they were mixed. I’m glad I read it.

The only other books I’ve read that is written in an diary or letter format has been the Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot (I was 10) and Bram Stoker’s Dracula (… I want to say I was around 15 the first time I read it.) Personally it’s not my favorite format because I think you miss out on a lot of the details you can get through regular first person and third person narratives. This is going to be one of those novels that will become a classic coming of age tale. Some people will love it and it will resonate deeply with them forever, other people might get annoyed with Charlie or the format the story is written in and give up too early. 

All of the characters have their own quirks, their flaws and strengths. Some people like their characters to be perfect all the time. I don’t. I hate it when characters are way too perfect like Jean Grey and Cyclops from X-men. I hate them because they fit into this cookie-cutter shape and behave like over dramatic soap opera characters/Stepford wives. I’m happy to say that all of the characters were complex there will be some you like and some you hate. Personally I love Patrick and Charlie’s father. I like Sam and Charlie and so on and so forth. There is something for everyone in this novel.

I really liked it it touched upon very difficult topics, it’s an overwhelming experience. Overall I’m really happy I read it and I would recommend to anyone in the YA community and give it to adults as well.

WARNINGS: there is abuse, positive and negative sexual content and swearing 

Overall: 5/7

Original Post: http://readbymoonlight.tumblr.com/post/38532234586/title-the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-author 

 Title: The Perks of Being a WallflowerAuthor: Stephen

Leave a Reply

